cat slash human

I think this year’s olive oil is our best yet.

cat-slash-human_smallest_text

I am in love with our label art, which comes to you from the textas of a talented seven-year old. It’s a good reflection of our cowboy attitude to this year’s pressing.

Why cowboy? Well, this oil was left to settle for 8 weeks, rather than the recommended 4-6 weeks. Whoa! Crazy, right? Yep, we’re pushing boundaries. The result is a robust oil that is also smooth and delicious.

This year’s facts and figures:

  • Olives picked = 156kg
  • Picking time = ~28.5 hours over 7 days [just one week of picking time this year]
  • Oil produced = 28L [pressed at Jumanga]
  • Varietals = picual, kalamata, manzanillo, verdale [translates to another year of undiscerningly picking olives that would have gone to waste. I think this is one of the factors that gives the oil complexity, and taking advantage of the food growing all around us is a reason that inspires me to keep doing this]

This is Year 3 of producing our own olive oil, and each year our list of willing helpers grows. My thanks go out to this hefty cast of generous contributors:

  • Suzie & Paul, John & Jean, Leandri, Darren & Alicia, Anna & Andrew, Amanda, Kristy & Laurie [for your olives];
  • Anna, Baiba (and Seb), John, Sarah, Justin [for donating olive-picking time];
  • John & Jean [for their gift of proper olive oil bottles and seals];
  • Trine [for turning my dinky design into professional labels]; and
  • India [for the label image and choosing our oil’s name].

IMG_4528

With my next olive pressings booked in, I’m already looking forward to Year 4’s oil.

IMG_4529

3 comments

  1. Wow I am so impressed!!!And I love the label!I dream of doing this…one year when I am back in Perth loving in York.
    Congratulations Hannah!
    AQMxx

    Like

Leave a comment