Where do you shop?

Tell me, and you may just win yourself a prize. More on that later.

At every class/workshop, I am asked where I shop for organic produce and whole foods. I am pleased to let you know that Perth has a growing number of excellent stores, markets and co-ops in addition to some great online stores, and more than once I have undertaken to post about them. So here they are, and here it is – a post of lists.

grains & beans

WA stores with good organic selections

WA markets with organic stallholders

vibrant potatoes

Co-ops in Perth

Online

This is by no means a complete list. I hope that it will be useful as a basic reference, whether you are just starting to buy more organic and whole foods or you are looking to expand your horizons. These are based on my Perth experience, so please feel free to comment with details of stores, markets and co-ops from your local area.

In fact, your comment may just win you a movie ticket.Courtesy of Curious Film, I have five double passes to the new film Entre Les Bras (Step Up To The Plate) to give away*.

Entre Les Bras opens in Australian cinemas on 29 November, and is the story of a father who is lovingly handing over his world-renowned and three Michelin-starred restaurant to his son. It looks to be an incredible journey involving excellence, relationships, succession planning and beautiful food.

All you need to do for a chance to win is comment on this post with the places that you most like to shop for organic and/or whole foods.

Enter before 9pm WST (Perth time) on Tuesday, 27 November; strictly one entry per person. I will draw five lucky commenters at random (using http://www.random.org/) and contact winners for postal details – unless there are five or less commenters, in which case, you automatically have yourself a ticket.

Happy shopping – and good luck!

H 🙂

*Please note that I declined attendance at the preview and will be paying for my own ticket when I see the movie; my attendance is not sponsored. I thought this was worth noting, in case of the perception that I have accepted payment for promotion, which is not the case. I merely want to be able to offer the opportunity to view to you, lovely reader!


Addendum of 30 November 2012: Additional stores/contacts have been added, further to post comments to date.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. I like Loose Produce in Como!

    Great list, by the way, I didn’t know we even had coops in Perth!

  2. mary says:

    Alive Organics in Bassendean/Morley. Great raw food cafe too!

  3. Daniela Sammells says:

    Coventry Square Markets have a great little shop with fantastic service and prices.
    Organic Selection Shop 160, 243 Walter Road, Morley,
    Email organicselection@gmail.com
    Phone 9276 1884.

    You can even order bulk foods online and collect in the shop at no extra charge. https://www.foodtraders.com.au/search/organic-selection?limit=0-40

    Another shop that I use is Mt Lawley Wholefoods (Raw food cafe too)
    Address: Unit 3, 885 Beaufort St (Cnr 9th Ave), Inglewood, Right near the Post Office on the corner
    Phone number: (08) 93716408

  4. I live down in Secret Harbour which can be a bit limiting for the good organic stuff… but there is a lovely organic stall at the Peel Farmers Markets (called TurnOrganic) and I also shop at Miami Fresh which has lots of organic goodies… though a lot are wrapped in plastic which is a massive shame!

  5. Amber says:

    I go to manna and peaches a lot, also loose produce and natures harvest on napoleon st in Claremont is pretty good.

    Thanks for the list – in particular the markets and coop list! Great!

    1. Amber says:

      (Malibu fresh in rockingham is pretty good as well)

  6. Hannah says:

    And, as if by premonition, I have 5 commenters! Congratulations, and thank you so much – I will be emailing you all very shortly for your postal addresses.

    I will also add the extra locations to the blog post for ready reference.

    Have a great day!

    H 🙂

  7. Rebecca says:

    I am happy for you to add our organic food co-op. We service SOR Perth. Called Quirky Co-op and here is our group on FB. https://www.facebook.com/groups/quirkycoop/

  8. Christine White says:

    I live near Wanneroo…and I wonder why there is no Organic Food Cafes or Retail Shops tjis way…at present I have to drive to Absolutely Organics or go to Swan Valley Cafe to Eat or buy produce?

  9. Organic circle in Armadale is fabulous, great raw food cafe too. http://www.theorganiccircle.com.au/ also Precious Organics in Myaree http://www.preciousorganics.com.au/ for those south of the river.

Leave a Reply

