Raw beetroot hommous

on

the raw stuff

This week’s post was going to be about healthy Halloween treats because I have noticed that this year Australian stores are particularly heavy with Halloween merchandise. Then I realised that, as Halloween has no special significance to me, I would just be rebranding my favourite raw treats [like icky sticky nutty bars and smoodgy coconut balls] with spooky names. That seemed a little pointless to me.

So I decided to keep a promise and blog about that instead.

Sally challenged me to create a raw version of the delicious beetroot dip that she brought in to work a few weeks ago. I did, and here is the end result for your reading and eating pleasure.

Recipe #122: Raw Beetroot Hommous. To make this recipe, you will need a Thermomix, food processor or good quality blender.

You will need:
► 1 heaped tsp of cumin seeds
► 2 cloves of garlic
► 60g of walnuts
► 3 medium-sized beetroot, trimmed, washed and cut into quarters but not peeled
► 100g of tahini
► 100g of good olive oil
► the juice of 1 lemon
► a good swirl of apple cider vinegar
► 1 tsp of salt, finely ground
► 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper
► pepper, to taste

some of the core ingredients

To create the hommous, start by grinding the cumin seeds [speed 7 for 60 seconds in the Thermomix (TM)]. Add the garlic cloves and process until finely chopped [TM: speed 7, 5 seconds], then add the walnuts and beetroot and finely chop [TM: speed 7, 5 seconds].

Add all other ingredients and process until a coarse paste forms [TM: speed 6 for 15 seconds]. Taste the mixture and season to taste (often more cumin, salt, oil or acid is needed). Process again, then taste. Repeat this process until you are happy with the result, remembering that the garlic and cumin flavours will grow overnight.

finito!

Enjoy as a dip with vegetable sticks or plain crackers – or try blending it with some apple juice for a raw soup in technicolour. I would consider adding lemon zest and coriander to my next batch, for added freshness.

Beetroot is so very good for you and this version makes for a refreshingly different twist to my usual raw hommous, which I make with zucchini. And, incidentally, my zucchini hommous recipe will feature in A Foodly Affair‘s next newsletter – hopefully a little incentive for you to sign up to the AFA newsletter, via the website, if you haven’t already!

Thanks for the inspiration, Sally.

H 🙂

14 Comments Add yours

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    Yum! This looks so good, I’ve never had beet hommus before. I also love the color, so bright!

    1. Hannah says:

      Thanks for your comment, Liz.

      The colour really appealed to me. I was hoping it would encourage a little person to eat it – although, as it turns out, my little person is off purples as well as greens at the moment!

      H 🙂

    2. shona says:

      really delicious thank you, well worth making and I will make it again, xxx

  2. I had this a few weeks ago at a kebab restaurant in Castle Hill. It’s very over-powering, but the flavours are so nice! Try it with Himalayan salt next time? 😉

    1. Hannah says:

      Thanks for your comment, Ayden. Fortunately, I controlled myself with the garlic this time & ended up with a version that was quite light & very edible.

      Just so you know, Himalayan salt is the standard in my kitchen.

      H 🙂

  3. hannahfong14 says:

    That looks amazing! Such a fun way to jazz up hummus! I’ll have to remember this. Sometimes I like adding chunks of sweet potato too, it’s delicious 🙂

    1. Hannah says:

      Sweet potato is a great idea – thanks, Hannah! Such an awesome vegetable to eat raw.

      H 🙂

  4. I’m looking forward to getting my hands on some beetroot as soon as we get back to Australia next month. Our beetroot days were short and sweet here.

    1. Hannah says:

      What a lovely thing to look forward to! Fresh beetroot are so versatile & tasty as a raw food option.

      H 🙂

  5. sue says:

    want to try this but wondering what I could use instead of the tahini – maybe peanut butter?

    1. Hannah says:

      Thanks for your query, Sue.

      I guess you could use peanut butter, but it’s not as healthful as tahini and it wouldn’t have the same distinctive hommous taste. You could also try substituting another nut/seed butter (eg. cashew, sunflower seeds), adding a little sesame oil for flavour.

      Can you share why you are after a tahini substitute? That may make it easier for me to suggest alternatives.

      H 🙂

      1. sue says:

        Hi Hannah, thanks for your reply. I have a list of high allergen foods and sesame seeds was one of them, so trying to make healthy alternatives. I ended up just using some cream cheese and the dip was a hit, but next time might try some cashews or try just leaving it out.

      2. Hannah says:

        I think that cashews, along with extra cumin seeds and garlic, could work well. Did you give it a go?

        H 🙂

Leave a Reply

