Touching base

on

It’s been a while between posts; life has been busy in a very good way!

I have been catching up on exercise, immersing myself in my day job, planning for future catering and public uncooking classes through A Foodly Affair, and spending time with my son and my self.

an awesome evening at the beach

I have also been thinking through some difficult questions on which I will base future posts, such as:

  • how processed is too processed?
  • do calories really matter if you are eating a wide variety of organic wholefoods?
  • why does fat get such a bad rap?
  • what can I possibly foodly experiment with next?

You, my astute and valued reader, can help me here – particularly with respect to my last question. What would you like to see me emulate in raw food? What burning questions do you want answered?

I hope this post finds you well and happy – and, if you are in Perth, I hope you are enjoying these balmy nights.

H 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Gina @ http://inkyed.wordpress.com says:

    Well my very obvious preference for experimenting is Pureed food for those requiring modified diets. Our son with CP can only eat smooth puree – so getting raw food in that form is often difficult – and having interesting looking food that is kind of cool for the other kids to see often tricky. I would also love to see elderly people have more choice of raw foods if they have to move to modified eating too – what a nice fresh change for some of the nursing home kitchens to serve up some great raw, real food for everyone.

    1. Hannah says:

      It is lovely to see you here, Gina! I am really touched by your blog & it’s great to hear that Mac is doing so well.

      I will focus more posts on softer food preparation. Please let me know if you like what you read – or if you have a specific challenge in mind for me.

      H 🙂

  2. Adrianne says:

    Looking forward to reading this year’s posts!

    Kind of on the topic of finding the line on how processed is too processed, I’d love to know your thoughts about dehydrating with a dehydrator; more specifically the energy used when dehydrating something overnight for 8+ hours versus cooking in an oven for 1 or less hours. This is something I always think about when I put something in the D and my boyfriend is incredulous that I am going to run an appliance for hours and hours and take all the moisture out of the food to emulate something ‘cooked’.

    On one hand, I love the ‘slow food’ concept around it, but on the other, dehydrated food has always been a bit of an experiment for me that I make every few months as a novelty, rather than everyday food. It always feels indulgent to me on a using electricity level to create a small amount. I’d love to find out how much energy the appliance uses. I’ve tried sun-drying before, and did do some lovely tomatoes, but it was very hard to control the fruit from molding when the humidity was high.

    Would love to know your wise thoughts around it.

    1. Hannah says:

      Thanks for your thoughtful comment, Adrianne. I share your concerns about dehydration & sun-drying.

      I am convinced of the health benefits of dehydrated over cooked food, for reasons of nutrient & enzyme preservation, however I’m clueless when it comes to comparing energy consumption of a dehydrator with another appliance. The comparison sites I have looked at use measures of maximum power; I am yet to find a site that looks at power requirements for usual use.

      I will keep researching and get back to you…unless another reader has some knowledge (or a link) they can share.

      H 🙂

Leave a Reply

