Norimaki uncooked

I know what some of you are thinking: How do you make a nori roll with raw rice? The answer: you don’t.

my raw norimaki

These raw nori rolls were made lovingly with a ground-together blend of cauliflower, macadamias, sultanas and seasoning in place of the traditional sushi rice.

the whole roll

I filled the norimaki with kale leaves and mustard greens and a simple salsa made from avocado, tomato, red onion, garlic, mint, lemon juice, olive oil and salt. I ate these rolls without any garnish or addition, however you could equally serve with an emulsion of tamari, apple cider vinegar and macadamia oil.

Norimaki are the new omelette; fill them to the brim with leftovers to create a meal both tasty and nutritious.

They certainly hit the spot for me.

H 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Gina says:

    Thank you so much for that idea. My 7yo son has severe CP and can only eat puree but wants to take Sushi to school for his lunch. I was just about to start trying different options so this is a good alternative to add in to the mix. Rice is still an option for us, I thought I would grind the nori and roll it on the edges or find some sort of squid ink I can paint around it. We basically look for max nutrition with min quantity for him.

    1. Hannah says:

      Thanks for your comment, Gina – I’m glad this post has given you some ideas. It’s amazing how life’s adventures can make us more creative in the kitchen!

      As an option instead of grinding nori, you could use dulse powder (powdered seaweed), which is available from organic & health food stores. This has a stronger taste than nori, so I would use it sparingly.

      H 🙂

  2. Claire says:

    This is great, Hannah! Since I’ve almost completely cut out rice from my diet, I have missed some things. Now I can have sushi in my packed lunch again!

    I’ve been using cauliflower in the place of pasta for a few years now – such a handy vegetable.

    1. Hannah says:

      Too right, Claire! There are always healthy substitutes to be had for familiar flavours, and cauliflower is just so awesome for you too.

      H 🙂

Leave a Reply

