Out & raw in Perth

I am still enjoying a predominantly raw food diet and it excites me to let you know about the places that I can recommend to eat out for healthy, raw and (mostly) organic meals.

club zing

Club Zing (ph: +61 8 – 9374 0877 – Shop 4 (behind Viva Photography), 8-10 Great Northern Highway, Midland)

My raw food adventure really started when I first stumbled upon this fine establishment in February 2010. Open from Tuesday to Saturday, Club Zing offers natural therapies, superfood smoothies and other raw delights.

PAWS Cafe (ph: +61 8 9228 2435 – 120 Beaufort Street, Northbridge)

I discovered PAWS when I started my raw food coaching course through Rawfood Karen. PAWS is open everyday of the week, selling a great selection of raw food alongside cooked vegan options, and the PAWS store has a great range of organic and vegan wares.

The Raw Kitchen’s Raw Food and Smoothie Bar (ph: +61 409 323 441 / 432 966 933 – Fremantle Markets)

Heath and Emma’s creations at The Raw Kitchen have inspired and challenged me to make many of my own dishes. Open from Friday to Sunday, they serve up some pretty amazing food, like pizza, cheesecake and macaroons, and they generously pass on recipe tips if you care to ask.

Manna Wholefoods (ph: +61 8 9335 7995 – 274 South Tce, South Fremantle)

Manna is open every day of the week and runs a cafe alongside its organic produce and products. You have to get in quick for their 100% raw salads, as they go quickly. You may be as pleased as I to note that there has also been a raw dessert on offer each time I have visited (and my 2-year old loved the jaffa cheesecake).

*

These are the raw friendliest places I have been able to find so far. They make eating out while eating raw in Perth very easy – if it happens to be lunchtime. Eating raw out at dinnertime is a little harder. Mainstream cafes and restaurants may serve you a completely raw salad on request, however this is usually not very exciting, un(der)dressed and expensive.

This said, it is very exciting to see that Perthians have some wonderful raw options available – and this will only improve given time!

H 🙂

PS. On an unrelated note, and because it has impacted me greatly in the last week, I have to tell you about an eye-opening documentary I watched the other day. It’s called FoodMatters and, if you haven’t yet seen it, please consider renting/buying the DVD. This impacted my thinking in the same way that Diet for a New America did when I read it in 1994.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. annieQ says:

    H

    I hope Mondos markets are selling beetroot today!

    AQM x

    1. Hannah says:

      Was there beetroot today, AQM? I was at the Freo Markets today; will have to visit closer to home next week!

      H 🙂

  2. I just sent this post link through to a friend who is all over the raw stuff. Thanks for the reviews.

    1. Hannah says:

      Thanks for your comment, Jude! I hope your friend find this useful.

      H 🙂

  3. Sarcha says:

    Hi guys,

    Just a heads up that the new Leederville Farmers Market will be launching on the 19th of this month. Take a look at leedervillefarmers.com.au

    1. Hannah says:

      Thanks so much for letting us know, Sarcha. So exciting to have another Sunday farmers market in Perth!

      H 🙂

  4. Racheal says:

    Thank you for the tips on good raw food places to eat out. I have just started dabbling with raw food. My mum has created a delicious recipe for fruit and nut raw food bites. They are delicious. Here is a link to the recipe if you would like it. Racheal xxx http://www.rachealvictoria.com/raw-food-fruit-and-nut-bites/

Leave a Reply

