Worms for dinner

If you haven’t yet discovered kelp noodles, these transparent tendrils of sea vegetable are my second most recent discovery – and my most recent method for bribing a strong-willed toddler into eating his dinner.

Xander's dinner

By the way, if you haven’t seen kelp noodles* before, this is what they look like on their own:

kelp noodles in the raw

Now to my most recent discovery: asafoetida, an onion-like seasoning that comes from the Middle East. Asafoetida* is actually the stinky sap of a plant that is related to carrots, parsley, dill and fennel. Because it is contraindicated for pregnant women (and I have many pregnant friends!), I will be careful with its use – although you may be interested to note that it can be used to treat flatulence.

This is kind of a recipe. I’m still calling it one, even though my measures are so imprecise.

Recipe #104: Wormy salad. Enough to serve 4 adults as a main.

You will need – for the salad:
► 1 packet kelp noodles
► 1 cup (or more) of cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower and garlic that’s chopped into coleslaw-sized bits [this is actually an awesome salad on its own – I’ll blog a recipe for an accompanying ‘mayonnaise’ very soon]
► 1 large carrot, spiralised [or, if you don’t have a spiraliser-type device, you can shave the carrot with a vegetable peeler]
► 4 large kale leaves, finely chopped
► 3 tbsp tiny dried mushroom pieces [I cut up mushrooms that I dehydrated with a little tamari, without the need to rehydrate – I think you would need to soak most prepackaged dried mushrooms to make them edible]
► 6 button mushrooms, cut into small pieces
► 8 runner beans, finely sliced on the diagonal
► roughly crushed walnuts [to serve]

Combine all ingredients, except for the walnuts, then make the dressing (below). Sprinkle the walnuts over the top of the salad when you are ready to serve; this keeps them crunchy for longer.

You will need – for the dressing:
► 1 heaped teaspoon chunky pesto [based on my basil & pine nut pesto recipe, with parsley and a little lemon sage in place of basil]
► 1 star anise
► 4 thin slices of ginger
► 1/3 tsp asafoetida
► 4+ tbsp apple cider vinegar
► 2+ tbsp tamari
► 2 tsp sesame oil
► 2 tbsp agave syrup
► a couple of good swigs macadamia oil [enough to turn the dressing emulsion into a light brown colour; didn’t I tell you this was a precise recipe?]

Make this recipe a couple of hours in advance if you can, to allow the flavours to permeate the oil and vinegar.

Place all ingredients in a jar and shake really well. Pour it all over the noodle salad (removing the ‘inedibles’ – the ginger & star anise – at the same time) then thoroughly coat the salad with the dressing. You may need to add more apple cider vinegar, tamari and macadamia oil, depending on how strong you like your dressing.

worms for big people

I dare you to give these wiggly worms a go! They come with a strong commendation from a finicky 2-year old.

H 🙂

*You can purchase kelp noodles online or from The Raw Kitchen at the Fremantle markets, if you’re in Perth. I bought my asafoetida from the PAWS Cafe & Store, 120 Beaufort Street, Perth.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Hayley says:

    I’m loving these posts Hannah! I live in perth and am very much getting into the health foods and semi raw food eating so these blogs are great and handy!

    1. Hannah says:

      Thanks so much for your lovely comment, Hayley!

      100% raw brings a steep learning curve and an awesome energy that I am so excited to share. It is great to know that you are finding my raw posts useful 🙂

      H 🙂

  2. Again another timely post for me Hannah, thanks! I’ve been looking into shirataki noodles lately and trying to find some, but I think that kelp noodles would serve my purposes much better given the added nutrition. Thanks for the info! Recipe looks great 🙂

    1. Hannah says:

      Thanks, Conor 🙂

      Just so that you know, the noodles don’t have much flavour on their own, however they do a fabulous job of absorbing whatever flavours you add to your dish – and I love their slightly crunchy texture.

      Let me know how you go with them!

      H 🙂

  3. Maggie says:

    I love your blog, Hannah. I recently discovered it and am looking back through all these amazing posts. Thank you for sharing your knowledge. Do you know where in Perth I can pick up a spiralizer? Am not having a lot of luck!

    1. Hannah says:

      Thanks for your lovely comment, Maggie! It’s great to know that you are finding my blog useful.

      You should be able to find a spiraliser online (eg. via http://www.kitchenwaredirect.com.au or Raw Power) or at a good kitchenware store. Mine came from Kitchen Warehouse in Osborne Park.

      If all else fails, you can use a normal vegetable peeler to peel pappardelle-like strips from your vegetables.

      Good luck – and thank you so much for reading!

      Hannah 🙂

Leave a Reply

