Something like porridge

I was never really a fan of porridge as a kid. I still ate it though – for the adorning wedge of butter and raw sugar crystals.

this morning's breakfast

Now I am eating porridge at least every other day, only I am making it with chia seeds rather than oats.

Chia seeds are a unique wholegrain food because they contain all essential amino acids (protein!) as well as lots of fibre, vitamins, minerals, antioxidants and omega 3 fatty acids. What an awesome way to kickstart your day!

It was Rawfood Karen who introduced me to chia porridge, and I am so excited to show you how easy it is. I am not even going to call this a recipe because it’s just too simple.

To make chia porridge, start by grinding 25g of chia seeds in a spice grinder (or Thermomix). I don’t pulverise the seeds completely because I actually like the jellyish texture that develops around the whole chia seeds, but you can grind them to a powder if you want to.

Add the seeds to your blender (or leave them in your Thermomix) with around 100g water and whiz them up! I use Mac the Thermomix on speed 3 [translation: medium speed] and 37°C for a couple of minutes so that I can have a warm-ish breakfast that is still raw.

I serve my chia porridge on top of a sliced banana with a spoonful of honey and a moat of nut milk. So far, I haven’t been tempted to add other fruits or grains.

And by the by, I have devised a superquick way to make nut milk: blend 50g of nuts (I usually use almonds or Brazil nuts) with 200g water until milky. I use Mac (on maximum speed, it takes him less than 10 seconds), but I am sure you could also use a blender or food processor for the same result. The milk tastes great even without straining and stores well in a jar for a couple of days, just remember to shake it up before use.

I hope this easy and nutritious meal inspires you to try something a little different when breaking that fast!

H 🙂

Leave a Reply

