It’s all about the chocolate, Part 3

I am a little bit in love with myself right now [yes, again, I know!]. I made raw chocolate from scratch and, while I still have much to learn, it is very, very good.

stack of chocolate

Here’s how I did it, and my method is very simple to replicate. With no sugar, gluten or dairy (or other animal products) in this recipe, my chocolate is suitable for vegans and coeliacs 🙂

Recipe #92: Raw chocolate. All of my ingredients were raw and organic. Note that the methods for batches 1 & 2 are detailed for illustration purposes only and should be avoided if one is serious about making smooth and very delicious chocolate.

Setting up:

► Buy a packet of teeny tiny chocolate cups and set them up on a large platter or two. You’ll need around 55 cups for this recipe.

cases at the ready!

► Clear a space in the fridge that is big enough for the platter(s). Make sure that the door compartments (or anything else) does not butt into this space when you close the fridge door.

► (optional) Place a thin layer of chewy/crunchy bits in the bottom of each cup to add texture to your chocolates. I used goji berries, crushed macadamia nuts and bee pollen.

goji berries and crushed macadamias

The ingredients:

► 170g cacao butter
► 10g coconut butter
► seeds of 1 vanilla pod [split the pod, then scrape the seeds from the middle with a sharp knife]
► 95g agave syrup [or you could use honey]
► good pinch salt
► 1 heaped tbsp maca powder [Maca Magic and Fran’s experience give more information and different viewpoints on this supplement/superfood]
► 120g cacao powder [or, if you prefer a more “milk chocolate” flavour, use around half of this amount]

the base ingredients

These ingredients are fairly pricy – I spent $34.95 on 500g cacao butter and $19.95 on cacao powder alone – so I would recommend shopping online. I am just about to start using Raw Power and Loving Earth for my supplies.

Prepare the cacao butter by chopping it into little pieces. This will help it to melt faster.

cacao butter in bits

The methods:

Batch #1 – Melt the fats in the Thermomix, followed by everything else.

When I sourced the ingredients for my raw chocolate, at first blush I was struck by how expensive it is. This is especially true if you seize your chocolate, as I did for Batch #1. My Thermomix theory was sound, I think, but it took me forever (20 minutes) to melt the cacao butter, coconut oil, salt and vanilla at 37°C. I sifted in the maca and cacao powders, added some agave syrup, mixed it all up, and all went swimmingly [see the “before” photo, below] – until I decided that my chocolate needed a touch more sweetness.

Batch #1

Adding that smidgeon more agave syrup (or it could have been a drop of moisture from the Thermomix lid) was the seizing point and the point at which I became very miffed at myself for about half an hour. I tried to revive my grainy mess with more coconut oil; alas, it was a lost cause.

With two ziplock bags full of tasty but seemingly useless brown sludge, I continued on to Batch #2.

Batch #2 – Everything in the Thermomix together, a method inspired by this post in the Quirky Cooking blog.

This didn’t work so well on account of the fact that cacao butter is very hard, not easy to cut through like coconut butter/oil. My Thermomix [incidentally, his name is Mac] got a little caught up in the slow meltage of ingredients and had to stop for a break every few seconds. After about 5 minutes of stop-starting, I poured everything into a double-boiler and whisked vigorously as I melted the mixture down the good old fashioned way.

The end result wasn’t bad. The chocolate was airy and not as smooth as I would have liked, but I really liked the flavour, particularly with the goji berries.

Knowing that I could and would do better, I looked to Batch #3 for results.

Batch #3 – Slow addition ingredients over a double-boiler. Proven method. Awesome result.

I melted the fats with the agave syrup, salt and vanilla over a double-boiler. When this was well and truly melted, I sifted in the cacao and maca powders a little at a time, whisking vigorously and constantly scraping the remnants from around the edge of the bowl. The end result was smooth and delicious.

Batch #3

Setting the chocolate:

I used a dessert spoon to fill the tiny chocolate cups, then I placed the tray of chocolate into the fridge for around 30 minutes to set. I am storing the chocolate in layers separated by baking paper.

goji berry chocolate

Next time, I will make my chocolate with cacao butter alone. I just know Batch #4 will be brilliant; check in with me again soon for a refined recipe!

I included this pic so that you could see what the inside of the chocolate looks like :)

…and what of my seized chocolate (Batch #1)? That’s definitely not going to waste. You’ll have to read my next chocolate post to find out how that chapter ends!

For my earlier adventures in chocolate, look to:

Thus continues my penchant for raw chocolate, which is full of tryptophan, antioxidants and a host of lovely minerals (like magnesium, calcium and zinc).

delectable bite-sized morsels

I had so much fun running my latest chocolate experiments. Thanks for reading – and I hope you are sufficiently inspired to make your very own chocolate!

H 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Have I told you lately that I love your blog? Well it’s time. And I do. It’s fabulous. Great photos, great use of Thermomix, lovely recipes, and so much all-round FLAIR. More please!
    ( I’m so tempted by everything here, I don’t know what to try first… probably that bloody beeeeyooootiful blueberry pie….)

    1. Hannah says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words, Helene! I’m glad to be back (after a short hiatus) and there is definitely more to come in this blogspace.

      Please do let me know how you go with my recipes (and, yes, the blueberry pie is one of my favourites) and I hope to see you on a very foodly diary again soon.

      H 🙂

Leave a Reply

