Glazed vanilla cupcakes with oozing centres of raspberry conserve & Chambord

It’s taking me so long to get photos from my Melbourne trip organised that I have decided to blog about something entirely different: cupcakes.

glazed cupcakes

While I didn’t expect to be baking for myself on Mother’s Day, I did have the able assistance of my little brother and sister, who ate dinner at my place. I hope you like these cupcakes as much as we did.

Recipe #87: Glazed vanilla cupcakes with oozing centres of raspberry conserve & Chambord. Makes ~15.

You should have all ingredients at room temperature to start:
► 200g butter
► 200g caster sugar
► 240g SR flour [= 240g plain flour + 1½ tsp baking powder]
► 1½ tsp vanilla paste
► 4 eggs
► splash of milk
► ~30mL Chambord [or another liqueur, if you prefer]
► ~15 tsp raspberry conserve [or another flavour of jam/conserve, if you prefer]

Whisk together all ingredients, except for the Chambord and conserve > if the mixture seems too thick, add more milk. Fill cupcake papers to about halfway with the cupcake mixture, spreading it up the sides to create a sort of well in the mixture; this will contain the conserve and Chambord.

Combine the conserve and Chambord. Place a heaped tsp of this mixture into each ‘well’. Cover the conserve/Chambord with a little cupcake mixture.

Bake in an oven preheated to 180°C for 12-25 minutes [the exact baking time will depend on your oven; everything I bake takes longer than the recipe recommends and it has to be turned halfway through the cooking process]. Test that the cupcakes are cooked by inserting a metal skewer into the centre of a couple – it should come out clean.

These cupcakes are delicious to eat just as they are, but if you want to add a special touch, you can glaze them.

the reveal

Recipe #88: Apricot glaze.

For the glaze, add 2 tbsp apricot conserve/jam & 3 tbsp brown sugar to a small saucepan with ~1 cup of water [I didn’t measure exactly]. Bring to the boil, whisking frequently; you need this mixture to come together, thicken and reduce. The glaze is ready when it coats the back of a spoon and doesn’t slide off. While still hot, strain the glaze through a fine chinois > if you use a normal strainer, you will have ‘bits’ to contend with. Brush the warm glaze liberally onto the cooled cupcakes.

My raspberry centres dropped almost to the bottom of the cupcakes with the cooking – and I can’t show you this because my pictures weren’t sharp enough. Next time, I will drop the raspberry mix into the centre of the cupcakes just prior to cooking and see whether or not it makes a difference.

In any case, the cupcakes were so lovely that I had to take preventive measures for the sake of my waistline; I wrapped most of them to send home with my brother and sister.

all boxed up - and somewhere to go

Enjoy – and happy Mother’s Day!

H 🙂


Change of 17 May 2010: I decided to call the apricot glaze a recipe because I know I will refer to it time and again.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. They look lovely! I have those cupcake cases and they’re so cute aren’t they! And I like how prettily you’ve boxed them up too 🙂

  2. Happy mother’s day to you Hannah!

    I’m actually a little glad you can’t show us the oozing centres as I am already reaching my limits of delicious cupcake craving as it is 🙂

  3. Laetitia says:

    These cupcakes are perfect to celebrate Mother’s Day… or any kind of event!

  4. Hannah says:

    Thanks so much for your lovely comments, Lorraine, Conor & Laetitia! Tonight I embark on a mandarin version [including a variation on your curd recipe, Lorraine!].

    H 🙂

  5. Y says:

    Those look so beautiful and special! Perfect for Mother’s Day!

  6. annieQ says:

    Hey I made these today-have been looking 4 a basic cupcake recipe thanks! Not as pretty as yrs but taste great- I used my mothers patty cake tin instead of paper cups so they came out with a yummy crunchy sugary edge:)

  7. Hannah says:

    Thank you for reading, Y & annieQ!

    >Y – they were a fabulous, understated dessert for the occasion.
    >annieQ – I’m so glad you tried them for yourself, and very happy they worked out well for you too.

    H 🙂

Leave a Reply

