Changing philosophies

the raw cacao bean, shattered and unsheathed

Following my Club Zing discovery, I ate almost completely raw, vegetarian food for a week before I suffered flu-like chills and aches; my body was in detox shock. It only lasted for one night, and I did wake up feeling awesome the next morning, but it was a timely reminder that changing a foodly philosophy takes time and anything worthwhile takes effort and determination.

And I am learning so much as I go. On Saturday, for example, I completed an eye-opening raw chocolate cooking class. Look out for my future post on this > in the meantime, you can read about raw cacao via David Wolfe Superfood Review, or raw chocolate via Gnosis Chocolate [I just love it that even each team member’s hair is chocolate-coloured!]. I have also recently discovered raw food posts through In The Raw and Wellwoman.

My slowly-unfolding philosophy centres on:

  • consuming less meat and processed foods – and more superfoods;
  • eating more raw [I am aiming for 50% raw food at each meal; 75% raw within 3 months];
  • sourcing local, organic produce where possible;
  • remembering that nutrition is important and should never be at the expense of flavour – I will keep experimenting with interesting techniques and flavour combinations; and
  • balance – eg. food colours, healthy with not-so-healthy.

Time constraints and necessity can make this philosophy difficult to follow, so it is definitely aspirational. At this stage, I don’t see myself returning to veganism or vegetarianism, and I also won’t deny myself something if I really crave it.

Pictured is one of last week’s dinners (pan-fried lamb cutlets with simple salsa verde, chickpea & eggplant curry, silverbeet & fenugreek sprout salad), as an example of my attempt at balance while satisfying a craving:

I seriously love lamb cutlets

Thank you for sharing in some of my current thinking, which links back to my post on mindful eating. I don’t know about you, but I can no longer close my eyes to how or where my food is grown and sourced, or the affect that each mouthful has on my mind and body – let alone the impacts on my wider environment.

So now, as ever, I am curious: what’s your philosophy on food?

H 🙂

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Maureen says:

    When I was about 10 my dad was diagnosed with cancer. The whole family’s diet changed to lentils, rice and vegetables. We ate many raw salads. This carried on into my adult life, I remember being teased (in a nice way) about my spartan diet at Uni.

    My dad went ‘into remission’ and is a fit and healthy 65 year old still laying bricks!!

    I have increasingly aimed for more organic, local foods as you mention above. I have come to value the food over the cost. I’m big on breakfast. We have about three courses.. the kids still love cereal so I allow a small bowl. I chop up a huge plate of fruit. Then we have organic eggs and toast. So every morning I know that they’re off to school with a good nutritional start.

    The school is a bit of a hippy one – no junky food and no packaging. So we have stainless steel lunch carriers. In goes more fruit, flat bread roll ups, and some home baked goodness like a berry muffin.

    Have been trying out new Lebanese recipes for dinners since Toby’s Teta (grandma) is from there. Lovely stuffed zucchinis, tabouleh, kibbeh and the latest… Phoenicia requested Majoudara, which is basically lentils and rice, ha! we’ve come full circle!

    As for myself I am always trying to reduce my chocolate intake and I have a feeling that as I follow your foodly blog that I will crave it less and less as my tastebuds get treated to new flavours discovered here 🙂

    1. Hannah says:

      Thank you so much for your heartfelt comments – and for sharing your family’s incredible story, Maureen.

      The Lebanese recipes you described sound delicious as well as good for you; I have to admit to being a little jealous of your 3-course breakfasts (I haven’t done that since my Chile trip 2 years ago!).

      I too am struggling with cutting down on chocolate. Having completed 2 chocolate cooking classes in the last 5 days, I foresee an even greater challenge arising on this front…but it’s not all bad!

      H 🙂

  2. //B says:

    Okay, I agree entirely with the consumption of locally grown produce, I can’t stress enough to anyone that first of all food that hasn’t been forced to grow with all manner of chemicals is so friggin tasty you could just eat it raw and realise thats what food probably tasted like in the 17th century also, can it really be healthy for us to be consuming such chemicals, I think not. And finally, in the UK it has been ever more popular to reach out to local farmers and support them, it brings costs down, food is of fresher and better quality and it supports the local economy whilst keeping independent traders in business. (F*** you Tesco) You may all know this but sometimes we forget.

    //B for HBB

    1. Hannah says:

      Thank you for your comment, //B. With generally wider consumption of processed, chemically- enhanced/protected and GM foods, I have to wonder about the links of nutrition to lifestyle and other diseases, such as cancer.

      It also makes me wonder what’s happening at the genetic level… More research required. Thanks for making me think that little bit harder!

      H 🙂

  3. Wade Sorce says:

    It’s funny, that sometimes the simplest tips are often the best! I will take these tips on board and see how I go. Thanks for this post!

    1. Hannah says:

      Great to hear! Thanks for the comment, Wade.

      H 🙂

Leave a Reply

