Butter from scratch

When my mum told me excitedly that “you can even make your own butter!” in my then brand new Thermomix, I was dismissive. I told her that I always ate Lurpak and didn’t care to change. Why would I go to all the trouble of making something that is already prepackaged and awesome?

That was before I found some cream at its use-by date in my fridge, and I didn’t want it to go to waste. So I made my own butter.

the glorious final product

Now I have to eat my words [and my new butter is helping them to slip down quite nicely, thank you very much]. With the help of Mac the Thermomix, this recipe took me less than 10 minutes to make and, at just over $3 for the 600mL cream, it is cheaper to produce than Lurpak is to buy.

A few hints:

  • Don’t make this with low-fat cream; the fat in the cream is what gets converted into butter. The Thermomix cookbook recommends seeking out cream with a minimum 35% fat.
  • Incidentally, there is no such thing as low fat butter. Any product that claims to be low-fat butter is either blended with oils or has a higher water content – so as far as I am concerned, it’s not the real deal. You sacrifice taste and the properties for cooking are different.

Recipe #74: Butter. Based on the recipe in the Thermomix cookbook, with my own quantities & touches. Yields just over 250g. Stores refrigerated for ~2 weeks.

I used – special equipment:
► 1 x Thermomix

– ingredients:
► 600mL whipping cream (35.5% fat by weight)
► 50mL double cream (55% fat) [it was also close to use-by]
► 500mL ice-cold water
► 5 good pinches salt

There are three stages involved in making your very own butter.

Stage 1: separate the fat from the milk. To do this, place the butterfly attachment inside the Thermomix and whiz the cream on speed 4 for 1-3 minutes [it took my cream 1 minute & 21 seconds to separate] > Look inside the bowl; you will know the fat and milk have separated when the Thermomix makes a different noise and starts to jump around.

butter frosting

Strain the butter over a bowl, and what you are left with is buttermilk.

buttermilk

Be sure to strain the butter well before embarking on the second stage of the process. Set the buttermilk aside for use in other recipes – like buttermilk pancakes! [Mmm…buttermilk pancakes…]

Stage 2: remove as much of the buttermilk as possible. This stage is really important, as it prolongs the life of the butter. To start, tip the butter back into the Thermomix bowl (without the butterfly – it’s done its work) and add the ice-cold water. Whiz on speed 4 for about 10 seconds, then strain the butter.

strained butter

Wipe the Thermomix dry and you are ready for Stage 3.

Stage 3 : add flavour. You can skip this step completely if you want unsalted butter for cooking. I wanted salted butter, so I added the butter back to the Thermomix bowl with the salt, then whizzed it up for 30 seconds at speed 4. And that’s it; buttery goodness complete! [Special thanks go to mum & Mac.]

salted butter

You could also add herbs or vegetable oils at this stage if you like. Next time I will make a store of garlic butter and freeze it into cubes.

buttery goodness

Don’t have a Thermomix? Don’t fret. You can find fabulous-looking non-Thermomix recipes at:

  • kiss my spatula – made with a food processor [looks like it takes around 15 minutes, which includes 10 minutes for Stage 1];
  • Cooking For Engineers – manufactured via stand mixer [I assume this takes somewhere between 15 and 30 minutes]; and
  • Crunchy Chicken Cooks – amazingly, produced using a glass jar! [takes less than 30 minutes]

Give this recipe a go, and I think you will be pleasantly surprised (as I was).

H 🙂

PS. This post was typed as I consumed a slab of from-scratch butter on fresh rye bread. Heavenly.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Ashul Shah says:

    That sounds so easy, I have often thought of making my own butter, in the old days in Kenya they would make butter from milk and then ghee from butter. It seemed like hard work but with the advent of the trusty thermo mix and in my case a blender I am going to give this a go this weekend and will give you a heads up as to how it goes!

    Love your blog btw, looks like will need to spend time on it over the weekend and go over your food/drink 🙂

    A

    1. Hannah says:

      Thanks, Ashul – it really is that easy. I am now all inspired to buy my own wooden churn; I would love to find out how you go with your blender version.

      Hope you enjoy your weekend reading,

      H 🙂

  2. Marion says:

    Great idea! you can also make butter with a normal food processor… or just by loosing sight of your cream and whipping it for too long… this happened to me on Christmas day.. lovely butter tho. thankx Hannah

  3. Marion says:

    PS. we are talking about high quality cream here :o)

  4. Mum says:

    Glad to see you are making good use out of your TM (Mac) .

  5. Hannah says:

    Thanks, Marion – I have heard of the unwatched-cream-turning-into-butter-by-itself trick!

    Yes, mum, Mac is coming in very handy 🙂

    H 🙂

Leave a Reply

