Breakfast tastes so much better when someone else cooks it for you

I thought I would continue the egg theme from my previous post and tell you about a most enjoyable breakfast experience. Once again, please try to see the beauty past the iPhone photography.

beautiful Eggs Benedict

Sunday represented my first visit to The Imp in Victoria Park and I can not believe it has taken me so long to get there. There are so many good things I can say about this place. For starters, the menu is inspiring, intriguing (you can even order Coco Pops and Fruit Loops!) and well-priced (our food selections were $13 and $11, respectively).

M ordered the awesome-looking Eggs Benedict and I decided on the hangover roll, which said absolutely nothing about my state of health at the time. Seriously. Maybe.

hangover roll

This culinary work of art was an omelette (crammed full of bacon and jalopeno chunks), which was then stuffed into a bread roll with spinach and tomato chutney, served with a side of extra chutney. It had just the right level of spicy sauciness, kind of like a Bloody Mary in bread. With spinach. And lots of egg. Ok, so it was completely different – but very incredibly good. My recommendation: order and eat the hangover roll sans cutlery and it will taste as awesome as mine did.

Other reasons to love The Imp:

  • the ambience – it’s a quaint little nook with cheery, helpful people all around [‘quaint’ appears courtesy of M];
  • the coffee – it’s very good. The Imp sources its coffee from Fiori Coffee, a Western Australian coffee roaster;
  • the individually wrapped caramelised sugarcube that you get with your coffee. It was so cute that I wanted to take it home with me and name it; and
  • it’s the perfect place to laze away a Sunday morning while doing the TV guide and cryptic crosswords from Sunday’s paper.

For me, The Imp was well worth the drive and effort. Please let me know if you try it out!

H 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh god I needed the hangover roll on Saturday. Because I was really hungry. OK, and perhaps just a little seedy.

    Getting to Vic Park whilst hungover though? Surely an impossible task!

  2. Hannah says:

    I know what you mean – and it is well worth the trek, trust me.

    H 🙂

  3. Mario Palandri says:

    Cristian and Chris (I am sure I have spelt that wrong) collectively and singularily are two of the best coffee baristas in Perth if not the state. The food is a compliment to their art and some of the best tapas around be it for breakfast lunch or dinner. Staff are hand picked, interesting characters in their own right and there is no better service for such an establishment in town. Go and enjoy!

    1. Hannah says:

      Thanks for your comment, Mario. I absolutely agree. Awesome coffee and great service make this one of my preferred places to breakfast.

      H 🙂

Leave a Reply

