A different kind of prescription

making the tea

Those who know me well will be aware that I am not a huge advocate of the medical profession — unless your medical condition involves a broken limb or an advanced form of some heinous disease. Or if you need a medical certificate. It’s really nothing personal; I have just been misdiagnosed and over-prescribed so many times over the years that I have been left with trust issues.

[Incidentally, why is it that so many GPs still insist on prescribing antibiotics when they are convinced you have a virus? It’s like they’re in league with the pharmaceutical companies — or the superbugs.]

My favourite misdiagnoses over the years include:

  • contact dermatitis, when I actually had a zinc deficiency;
  • chicken pox, which turned out to be ringworm; and
  • pregnancy when, as a virginal 14-year old who looked like a 10-year old [I was a late bloomer], I had sunstroke. I had been at a swimming carnival in full sun on the previous day.

Stepping off my soapbox, maybe you now understand my apprehensions. You may also share in my surprise when, after a recent visit to my local GP where I expected no more than a medical certificate, she turned to me with, “Yes, that sounds like the virus that’s going around at the moment -” (but that wasn’t the surprising bit, this was:) “would you like a natural remedy?”

“Y-yes,” I stammered, taken off-guard. With that, she started writing out a different kind of prescription.

my prescription

“You can add some honey if you like, for taste,” she added as I walked out the door. So I thanked her and I went home and I made it.

As the good doctor suggested, I used the blend as an inhalant first, then drank it as a tea once per day for three consecutive days. It was sweet and clean-tasting. Quite delicious really, even without the honey. And I believe that it actually did my mind and body good.

So what are the health benefits of coriander seeds and ginger? Among other advantages, both spices have properties that strengthen the immune system.

Coriander seeds. I discovered that these seeds have a positive effect on basically every ailment, being:

  • great for skin & aiding digestion;
  • high in flavinoids, phytonutrients, iron & magnesium – magnesium is essential for dealing with stress;
  • an effective treatment for nausea & high cholesterol; and
  • a natural barrier to salmonella poisoning.

Ginger. I first introduced ginger as an antimicrobial in my post of 13 April 2009. Since then, I have discovered that ginger is also anti-viral, anti-toxic, and anti-fungal – which means it is also a useful cure for colds & flus.

 
Thank you, Dr G, for restoring my faith in GPs and for my natural remedy.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Interesting. Whenever I am poorly I drink lashings of ginger-steeped hot water, but never thought to add coriander seeds to it. Will give it a try next time. Hopefully I won’t get too carried away and end up making a soup 😉

    Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  2. Hannah says:

    I know what you mean, Conor. I was so tempted to turn it into something else, but glad I refrained in the end; the tea was just what I needed.

    Thanks for the well-wishes! With a touch more sleep, I’ll be back to fabulous.

    H 🙂

Leave a Reply

