An experiment in bubbles

the scone loaf is just as fabulous the next day
After nights of planning and cooking in the lead up to a gorgeous friend’s 30th [and having a heap of fun doing it, I might add!], I sought refuge in the simplicity and frivolity of a dish invented. Champagne scones.

You may have heard of lemonade scones before. These scones use only three ingredients: cream, lemonade and self-raising flour.

My inspiration for champagne scones came from the fact that I had some leftover sparkling wine in my fridge. Hating to waste anything, I devised a cunning plan over jazz at The Ellington: I would use the recipe for lemonade scones, only I would substitute champagne for lemonade and use triple-sifted flour to ensure light fluffiness. I figured that the acidity level of the champagne would be similar to that of the lemonade and, hence, react with the baking powder component of the flour in a similar way.

The lemonade scone recipe I remember had a very simple cream : lemonade : flour ratio, something like 1:1:2, and that’s what I based my experiment around. The dough I made turned out a little sticky, so I baked it in a loaf pan and called it ‘scone loaf’; you could always turn it into traditional scones by adding a little more flour so that the mixture keeps its form.

Recipe #54: Champagne scone loaf.

You will need:
► 2½-3 cups self-raising flour [you may need a little more or less, so start with 2 cups, and add extra as needed]
► 1 cup thickened cream
► 1 cup sparkling white wine [I used Omni Blue]

Start by sifting the flour into a mixing bowl. Make a well in the centre.

sifting the flour

Mix in the cream.

adding the cream

Add the champagne slowly, stirring as you go.

mixing in the sparkling

…and you may need to change your stirring implement part-way through.

the mixture starts to thicken

Spoon the mixture into a greased & floured loaf tin. Cook in a 175°C oven for 30-40 mins, or until a skewer/knife comes out clean after being inserted into the middle of the loaf.

time to cook

Serve with double cream and your favourite jam.

20091115 champ_scone_toserve

And the finished product? As the pictures attest, my scone loaf was light and fluffy – and, I can assure you, perfectly edible, even on the following day. A most delicious result!

20091115 champ_scone_nextday2

I must give thanks to Matt for his able assistance with stirring and photos, and to Annie, Nerida, Gabriel and Alicia for being willing guinea pigs/tasters in the name of kitchen science.

This is an incredibly easy recipe to improvise:

  • If you don’t have sparkling wine on hand, use lemonade or soda water.
  • Those with a gluten-free diet can also substitute spelt flour with similar results. Just remember to add 2 tsp baking powder per cup of flour.
  • The comments attached to Exclusively Food’s lemonade scone recipe also tell me that you can substitute yoghurt for cream, and introduce fruit and nuts if you want to.

I will tweak future batches by adding a little more flour and shaping the mixture into individual scones; cook in a 180°C oven for 12-15 minutes.

So, when you next have unexpected guests, whip out some cream, lemonade and self-raising flour and wow your guests with this amazing transformation – just don’t forget to come back and tell me all about your experience.

H 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. E says:

    pink whisk!!!!! 😉

  2. Hannah says:

    But of course, E. Did you expect anything less?

    H 🙂

Leave a Reply

