Un-guilty pleasures

I have a pretty healthy diet and don’t eat much in the way of junk food so, when I am up for a naughty indulgence, I don’t scrimp…but I do eat in nibbles.

the perfect blend of chocolate and hazelnut paste

Today I visited Les Pralines Belges in Perth’s Trinity Arcade for the first time in years. I was so excited to see the old chocolate cafe still there. In spite of Perth’s changes, it is comforting to know that some things stay the same.

I couldn’t resist my old favourites as soon as I had clapped eyes on them: I bought a bag each of Leonida’s Gianduja [if you haven’t tried Gianduja before, it’s almond & hazelnut praline and tastes like a mini bar of Nutella] and dark chocolate-coated candied peel. These precious Belgian treats make my heart sing with each bite. Totally worth the $23.50. Oh, and then of course there was the bonus stick of choc-coated candied lemon peel for the road [thanks, Robert :)].

*

Priced by most gourmet shops at $14.95-$17.50 for a tiny little plasticky box-type arrangement [ok, it’s 450g, so not as small as it first looks], the lokum (sweet rose delight) from Malouf’s Mezza is not cheap. It is, however, utterly delicious.

*

I was introduced to the Swan Valley’s Yahava Koffee Works a couple of weeks ago following a colleague’s farewell lunch. Our visit followed a recommendation from our gorgeous waitress at Chester’s (winery and Swan Valley institution). I thoroughly enjoyed my long mac at the time and, after getting high on the smell of Yahava’s many excellent coffee blends/varietals, I walked away with a number of items that I absolutely did not need. My favourite take-home goody was a bag of Yahava’s ‘Dark Chocolate Coated Koffee Beans’. Incredibly moreish and $8.90 for 150g.

So now I am intrigued. What is your choice of foodly indulgence?

5 comments

  1. I'm terribly impressed by your ability to stop eating half way through the Gianduja to take a photo.

    I'm a huge Gianduja fan, but something else I like to very rarely indulge in is a huge piece of chocolate coated baklava. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm…

    Like

  2. Conor, I have to say that it was touch & go at the time :p

    I am absolutely with you re the baklava, which reminds me that I haven't indulged in quite some time… Have you ever tried making it yourself?

    H 🙂

    Like

  3. Brilliant! I will check out your recipe and attempt to make my own. Will let you know how it turns out.

    Your dilemma ("where to go to in Perth for consistently good baklava") sounds awfully like my next quest…

    H 🙂

    Like

    • Consistently good baklava: visit Little Lebanon for authentic middle eastern food and dessert. It’s Perth’s best kept baklava secret, i recommend shisha. good friends and black tea with mint as additions to your baklava experience 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment