Little people food

It’s not long after baby is born that people start judging your temperament based on your baby’s. I am fortunate that Xander is a calm, happy baby for most of the time. So that’s pretty much what people think of me. Most of the time.

Then he gets shirty. Usually, he’s tired and the pram has stopped moving – we’re fourth in line at the Woolworths checkout right on closing. The same people who earlier ooh-ed and aah-ed over my little angel shoot me daggers, as though they are now in the presence of a devil-child.

Yes, when you have a baby, you open yourself wide to the criticism of the world, because everyone has an opinion on how to raise a child. Your child. And everyone seems to have an opinion on your parenting skills.

The unbiddden critique does not fall short of the food choices you make for your little darling (breastmilk vs formula, when to give solids, what solids, how much…). Every baby is so individual, in terms of taste and texture preferences, and how their little digestive systems react to new things. In the end, you just have to shut out the world and do what best suits you and your baby.

Xander has been eating solids for over 4 months, so I thought I would share some of what I do. I prepare almost all of his food from scratch, because I like to know exactly what is going into his little body, and I never season his food.

Xander’s favourite foods so far:

  • Whole bananas – the eating process is sticky and messy and so fun to watch.
  • Avocado & banana – mashed together. Sounds weird, but he loves it.
  • Pumpkin & ricotta – I essentially steam the pumpkin in minimal water until it starts breaking up by itself. Pumpkin to ricotta ratio = 2:1. [BTW, this combo is also great as an adult meal – as a ravioli filling with sage and seasoning…]
  • Prunes – I buy pitted prunes, rehydrate them by just-covering them with boiling water in a bowl and leaving them overnight. When hydrated, I check each one for pips [I have wasted a whole batch before by not checking] and blend with the pruney water.
  • Pears & apples – separately. Sliced very finely and stewed.
  • Baby yoghurt with fruit (eg. peach) or Weetbix.
  • Sweet vegetables – eg. carrots, sweet potato – cooked as for pumpkin.

If I am cooking, I prepare each element separately, then freeze into icecubes and store in freezer bags. This gives me the freedom to make a multitude of flavour combinations.

I have been a little tentative with trying food groups outside of fruit, vegetables & legumes until now. On the strength of recent encouragement from our Child Health Nurse, I am starting to expand my repertoire.

Tomorrow, I am making Xander spaghetti bolognese for the first time. I am really excited about him trying this as it’s such a favourite of mine.

My beautiful next-door neighbour loaned me some Annabel Karmel books [can’t believe I had never heard of her before!] and I am also looking forward to trying some of the combinations she recommends.

I hope this helps you and the very little people in your life,

H 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    Great post… and thanks for the link to Annabel Karmel’s site! Sierra and I are struggling with getting the hang of solids as she seems to prefer breastmilk to anything else! I’m doing much of the same as you did for Xander, but using ricotta is a new thought! Shall definitely give that a go. I have a heap of frozen cubes of zucchini – any suggestions on what to mix it with to make it more appealing for a little one? I mixed it with sweet potato and she took one mouthful and started dryreaching until she powerchucked!

    Tamara P

  2. Hannah says:

    Thanks for your comment, Tamara. Xander was similar, in terms of preferring breastmilk, so I began to feed him solids first (ie. before the milk feed). Have you tried this? I know it’s not for everybody.

    Re the zucchini: I had the same issue with green beans – and Xander loved them mixed with pumpkin. The other thing you may want to try is cooking the zucchini into a bolognese, or veg/lentil stew.

    Let me know how you go, and if you would like some recipes,

    H 🙂

Leave a Reply

