Why am I writing this blog?

Passion. Compulsion. Food zen.

“Tell me what you eat and I will tell you what you are.” – Brillat-Savarin.

Food is a soulful experience. We eat to nourish ourselves, for comfort, for social interaction, for sacred rites.

More than that, food is personal; a sensory journey. We eat first with our eyes, then our noses, and the textures accentuate the tastes, which can be slow to reveal themselves. Choosing the right wine, music and setting can add meaning to a simple meal or elegantly embellish a decadent dinner party.

[This Ideas in Food post on participation says it far more eloquently – and their post on creativity is a real eye-opener. Read the manifesto.]

Food is such a basic part of our existence and yet it plays so complex a role. I want to explore that. This site will become more than just recipes [but, of course, there will be more recipes!]. Please stay tuned.

This blog started life as MasterChef Diary, following my successful application to audition. Then I began to worry about copyright issues and longevity of a site that starts as the result of a TV show. So I decided that this would be something I do for me. And I changed the name. To ‘a very foodly diary’. Because that’s what it is. Food-related experiences and musings. My food-related experiences and musings.

I was in a rut before I started. Having been a stay-at-home mum for six months, I was feeling stifled and uninspired. Blogging threw me back into writing, big ideas and the real world.

I am excited about food. I am excited that my blog is inspiring others to get into the kitchen for the first time. I am excited that people are reading and actually trying out my recipes. Thank you!

I hope that, in some small way, this blog is giving to you.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    Speaking of writing, one day I will finish that book of mine! – Bill

  2. Hannah says:

    I hear you! Good to know you are still writing, Bill.H 🙂

Leave a Reply

